0523D6C3-FC74-2568-07DDA3A310B5ABBA
7A2B3E1B-B2C4-865D-D13916595E81AAF2

Club Sports


The Physical Education Department supports the following club programs:

Alpine Skiing

The Alpine Ski Team is a coed club sport that currently has 23 members. The team practices twice a week at Labrador Mountain, which is roughly an hour away from campus. Wednesday nights are dedicated to Giant Slalom, and Thursday nights are reserved for Slalom. The team practices and races with the supervision of the Labrador Racing Staff. The team races about seven times a year, beginning in the middle of January, in conjunction with the United Ski and Snowboard Association. Contact Max Freedman at mfreedma@hamilton.edu.

Curling

The Curling Team currently has 20 members. We practice on Sundays at the Utica Curling Club, located in Whitesboro, N.Y. The team competes against other schools at college bonspiels, including our own tournament. In the past, we have traveled to Schenectady and Rochester, N.Y., and to Boston and Chicago. No experience is necessary to join the team. Contact Andrew Fletcher at afletche@hamilton.edu.

Cycling

The Hamilton College Cycling Club is a racing team that competes in the Eastern Collegiate Cycling Conference. The team trains about five days a week in the fall and the spring. The racing season runs from mid-March through mid-May. All experience levels are welcome. Contact Peter Skaggs at pskaggs@hamilton.edu or Todd Rayne at trayne@hamilton.edu.

Equestrian Team

The Equestrian Team is a coed club sport that gives its members the opportunity to ride and compete at the college level. Each member practices twice a week at Whitefox Farm, which is about five minutes from campus. The team competes in eight horse shows a year and is part of the national Intercollegiate Horse Show Association. No experience is required to join. Contact Gabby Troya gtroya@hamilton.edu or Lauren Baker at lbaker@hamilton.edu.

Fencing Team

The Fencing Team is a coed club sport that currently has 13 members. The team practices from 4 to 6 p.m. Monday through Thursday in one of the old squash courts on the second floor of the Alumni Gym. Although not part of a larger organization, the Fencing Team competes against other schools such as Hobart and William Smith College, RPI and Colgate in interscholastic tournaments. No experience is required to join the team. Contact Jennie Wilber at jxwilber@hamilton.edu or Zach Brett at Zach Brett.

Figure Skating

The Figure Skating Club has a competitive team that participates in intercollegiate events for both individual and synchronized skating. The team consists of skaters of all levels, from pre-preliminary to senior freestyle, and members can choose to compete in a variety of competitions each year. The team practices at the Sage Rink on campus, and we have access to ice time daily. Every semester we have opportunities to compete in the Northeastern section at USFSA-sanctioned intercollegiate competitions against a variety of schools. No experience is necessary to join the team. Contact Amanda Lodge at alodge@hamilton.edu or Karalin Pintye-Everett at kpintyee@hamilton.edu.

Ice Hockey

The Club Hockey Team provides the opportunity to play quality hockey in a competitive environment. The team consists of experienced members who have played at the high-school and prep-school level, and it won the championship in its inaugural year. It regularly competes in the Upstate New York Club Hockey League, which includes teams such as Lemoyne College and Union. The Hamilton team practices on a regular schedule and plays most of its games on weekends. Experience is recommended; new players are always welcome. Contact Steven Stone at sstone@hamilton.edu or Ryan Glenn at rglenn@hamilton.edu.

Nordic Skiing

The Nordic Ski Team is a coed club sport that currently has 20 members. The team practices three afternoons a week either in the Glen, on Hamilton's golf course or other nearby locations. The team is a member of the Mideast Conference of the United Ski and Snowboard Association and competes in a number of races each season. Students of all experience levels are welcome though experienced students are encouraged to join. Contact Paul Magnus at pmagnus@hamilton.edu or Peter Skaggs at pskaggs@hamilton.edu.

Rugby (M)

One of the largest and most active club sports on campus, Hamilton Men's Rugby competes in the New York Rugby Empire East Division II conference, frequently facing such schools as Colgate, RPI, Siena and Union. Led by head coach Pete Gelinas, with a large number of rising sophomores and juniors as members, the team anticiptes another great season in the fall. New players are always welcome to join the team, and no prior experience is necessary. Practices are held from 4 to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday on Minor Field during the fall and spring. Contact Noam Barnhard at nbarnhar@hamilton.edu, Dan Farina at dfarina@hamilton.edu, or Jon Capelin at jcapelin@hamilton.edu.

Rugby (W)

The Women's Rugby Team currently has 28 members. No experience is needed, and the majority of students who join the team have no prior knowledge of the game. Depending on field conditions, the team practices from from 4 to 6 p.m. Monday through Friday on Minor Field. The team is part of the New York State Rugby Conference in Premier Division I, competing against Brockport SUNY, Buffalo SUNY, Cornell University, Ithaca College and Syracuse University. Hamilton's Women's Rugby won the Division II State Championship and reached regional playoffs in fall 2008. The next year the team placed third in New York State and reached regional playoffs in Premier Division I. In the spring season the team takes part in a variety of competitive regional rugby tournaments. Contact Elizabeth Starr at epstarr@hamilton.edu or Hannah Wooley at hwooley@hamilton.edu.

Soccer (M)

The Hamilton College Men's Club Soccer team is a relatively new athletic club on campus, and provides students the opportunity to play soccer in an environment less intense than that at a varsity level. While all skill levels are welcome, we do keep a competitive level as we compete in the Region 1 Upstate New York Division, against schools like Colgate, RIT, RPI, Syracuse, Cornell and so on. The team is active throughout both seasons, practicing 4 times a week, with league games/friendlies during the weekend. While the Fall season is substantially longer, we still do have a Spring season that consists mostly of indoor practices and games, and towards then end of the Spring, a couple of outdoor games. Contact Steven Cunden (scunden@hamilton.edu), Nick Falcone (nfalcone@hamilton.edu) or Kevin Alcala (kalcala@hamilton.edu)."

Soccer (W)

The Hamilton College Women's Club Soccer Team gives female students a chance to play soccer at a competitive level in an environment that is more relaxed than that of varsity soccer. Though most members played in high school, we welcome all skill levels. The team currently has 30 members and competes in the Region 1 Eastern New York Division, which includes schools such as Colgate, Binghamton, Cornell, Syracuse and Ithaca. The team is active year-round, with weekly practices and games during the fall and spring. In the fall, the team has the opportunity to advance to the Region 1 Tournament. In fall 2014, the Women’s Club Soccer team won the Eastern New York Division and advanced to the Region 1 Tournament in Delaware. Contact Hanna O'Leary at hoxleary@hamilton.edu or Leah Weaver at lweaver@hamilton.edu

Sailing

The Hamilton College Sailing Team, which is coed, competes in the Mid-Atlantic Intercollegiate Sailing Association, taking part in dinghy and keelboat regattas in the fall and spring. Regatta competitions are most often single-day trips or weekend overnights in college dormitories or member residences. The team practices at the Willow Bank Yacht Club in Cazenovia New York three times a week weather permitting. Contact Zach Baum at zbaum@hamilton.edu

Ultimate Frisbee

The Ultimate Frisbee organization on campus consists of men's and women's teams with a total of more than 75 members. The teams compete separately but some practices are coed, and there are nightly joint team dinners. Teams practice five times a week in the fall and travel around the Northeast for tournaments. Teams prepare indoors and outdoors in winter and early spring to compete in the USA Ultimate College Series. The men's team most recently finished fifth in the Metro East Region, and the women's team finished 13th in the country at Nationals. Contact Kateri Boucher at kboucher@hamilton.edu.

Water Polo

The Hamilton College Water Polo Club is an open organization created for the advancement of water polo skills and intercollegiate competition. Founded in the spring of 2009, the club competes every fall in the New York Division against Columbia, Colgate, Cornell, New York University, United States Military Academy, Binghamton University, Syracuse University and Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute. The team also compete against NESCAC teams during in-season exhibition tournaments. Contact Tyler Rehor at trehor@hamilton.edu.

Back to Top