Cafruny Awarded Fulbright Scholar Grant to Russia

Alan Cafruny
Alan Cafruny

Alan Cafruny, the Henry Platt Bristol Professor of International Affairs, been awarded a Fulbright Scholar grant to lecture at the Higher School of Economics in Moscow during the 2013-14 academic year.

Cafruny will lecture on U.S. foreign policy and international economic policy. He is one of approximately 1,100 U.S. faculty and professionals who will travel abroad through the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program in 2013-2014.

Cafruny earned a Ph.D. from Cornell University and teaches in the area of international relations and European politics.  He is the author of numerous books and scholarly articles, including most recently Europe at Bay: In the Shadow of US Hegemony (co-authored with Magnus Ryner, Lynne Rienner, 2007).  Cafruny’s articles have appeared in a variety of journals in the United States and Europe, including the New Left Review, International Organization, Review of International Political Economy, New Political Economy, and the International Spectator. He is a former member of the executive committee of the European Studies Association (EUSA).

He served as visiting professor (1993-94) and external professor (1994-2000) in the Department of Political and Social Sciences at the European University Institute (Florence, Italy).  He was a member of the board of the Mohawk Valley Resource Center for Refugees from 1997-2005 and served as board president from 2001-2003. Cafruny chaired the Department of Government at Hamilton from 1996-2004. He is coeditor (with Herman Schwartz) of the series:  Advances in International Political Economy, sponsored by the Intermediate Political Economy Section of the Intermediate Studies Association.


The Fulbright Program is the flagship international educational exchange program sponsored by the U.S. government and is designed to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs.


Participating governments and host institutions, corporations and foundations in foreign countries and in the United States also provide direct and indirect support. Recipients of Fulbright grants are selected on the basis of academic or professional achievement, as well as demonstrated leadership potential in their fields. The program operates in more than 155 countries worldwide.

Since its establishment in 1946 under legislation introduced by the late U.S. Senator J. William Fulbright of Arkansas, the Fulbright Program has given approximately 310,000 students, scholars, teachers, artists, and scientists the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, exchange ideas and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.

Fulbright alumni have achieved distinction in government, science, the arts, business, philanthropy, education, and athletics. Forty-four Fulbright alumni from 12 countries have been awarded the Nobel Prize, and 81 alumni have received Pulitzer Prizes.

Fulbright recipients are among more than 40,000 individuals participating in U.S. Department of State exchange programs each year. For more than 60 years, the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has funded and supported programs that seek to promote mutual understanding and respect between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. The Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program is administered by the Council for International Exchange of Scholars, a division of the Institute of International Education.

Back to Top